Tifton Planning & Zoning Commission


  • 6 p.m.
  • 2nd Monday of each month
  • Tifton Municipal Court
     527 Commerce Way

Meeting locations and times are subject to change due to extenuating circumstances. Verify all meetings by contacting the Department of Community Development or checking the legal postings in the Tifton Gazette.


Lamarice Taylor June 2023

Lamarice Taylor

Peter Crowley June 2022

Peter Crowley

Julie Sharpe Chair June 2023

Julie Sharpe

Solomon Nixon, Jr Vice-Chair June '22

Solomon Nixon, Jr

Julie Lester June 2021

Julie Lester

History & Purpose

Tifton's Planning and Zoning Commission is a recommending body for the City Council, consisting of five appointed members. The members volunteer for a three-year term.

The current Commission was started in 2012 from the previous work of the Greater Tift County Planning and Zoning Commission established in March of 2000. The Commission is governed by both City Ordinance (Part II, Chapter 54 and Part II, Appendix A - Land Development Code, Chapter 8, Section 2), and various State laws.

The Commission's primary duties involve evaluation and suggestions for the Greater Tift County Comprehensive Plan, recommending amendments to the zoning ordinances and zoning map, and reviewing and making recommendations for proposed amendments to the zoning ordinances and zoning map.

They are also responsible for consideration of subdivision of land and to also make recommendations regarding existing, proposed, extended, widened and narrowed streets, public ways, public open spaces, and public buildings and sites.